< ○ ◇ □ △ ▽ ♡ />


Physical Modeling Most of the sounds created in these works are original waveforms constructed on the computer with mathematical models. Building complex waveforms can be difficult and time-consuming. I would like to thank the following artists and sound designers who have created inspirational and foundational constructions from which I was able to fork my own versions. Richard Devine
Vincent Gagnon
Christian Halten
Andrew Skelton
Joerg Huettner
Taiho Yamada
Daniel Stawczyk
Christian Laffitte
Laurence Rapaccioli (Arksun)
Alessandro Cardinale
Thiago Pinheiro
Joerg Huettner
David Kristian
Michel Basque
Ed Ten Eyck

Forked Samples In the parlance of computer programming, a fork is a derivation of source code, often taking the original in new directions, and sometimes altering the source in unrecognizable ways. The following artists generously offered their immense talents for some of the analog mapping used in these works, and I hope I’ve retained the spirit of their artistry. Lara Ausensi, vocalist
Farida Rustamova, violin
Aleksey Igudesman, violin
Alejandro Regueira, viola
Vasily Bystoff, cello
Charlie Clouser, percussion

Hardware Roland A-88MKII
Nuances Controller
Behringer Nekkst

digital art

The digital art pieces on this site are original works I created[1] for Imaginalia Institute, a private research organization exploring the nature of consciousness and the unconscious aspects of the human imagination. The collection is also displayed on the website of author and researcher Faith Harkey. The Imaginalia of Faith Harkey


Cameras Fujifilm S6000fd
Holga 120N

Photofinishing Zoner

© 1994-2023 Drew Harkey. All rights reserved.
(Please. Do not take images without letting me know).


I coded this website in PHP, jQuery, HTML5 and CSS3.[2] This site is my coding sandbox, so I started with a blank canvas. I built the underlying template and developed the design from scratch, without the use of frameworks or bootstraps.

No website, however, is an island, and I appreciate the generous spirit of the open source community from whom I have learned much, and without whom this site would not be possible.

In addition, I received a lift from the following contributors:

My infinite load JS for vertical and horizontal scrolling / swiping (which I added) was built upon the work of:

My image enlargements are assisted by:

The sound file player is built on a wireframe version of:

Animated background images are powered by:

Tooltip trickery is built upon the work of:
Osvaldas Valutis

I built an Apache server with the help of docs at:
Digital Ocean

Code © 2018-2023 Drew Harkey. You may copy parts of this code and/or modify it under the terms of the GNU General Public License to create a derivative work. However, you may not copy the entire code as a whole to create a duplicate work, commercial, non-commercial or otherwise.

Privacy To make improvements to the website and find errors, I use a privacy-aligned analytics tool called Clicky to log and analyze web traffic. I do not use other cookies and do not monitor cookies from other websites you visit before arriving. Nor do I know what other services you are logged into before arriving here. I use Clicky for the legitimate purpose of measuring website visitors in an anonymized way, and no personal data is logged. You may review Clicky’s privacy policy.

Typography Set in 100-900 weight: